10 years downhill and sky high

April 8, 2010 at 4:32 PM | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The other day I had a visit with another eye doctor. He did some more tests (none I haven’t been through before of course). He did a mapping of my visual field.

I had one of those done ten years ago. I started crying when I saw the differences.

This is my left eye 10 years ago:

Inside the big line is where I could see, not necessarily well but I could see. The other lines show where I have blind spots. It’s hard to understand all the lines but when compared to what it is now, it’s pretty amazing.

Now, the right eye ten years ago.

Not too bad, when I was 20. Now that I’m nearing 30 (shudders at the number), here’s how the eyes are doing.

The left eye.

The black line I can kind of see in.

The right eye.

It makes me quite fearful of what it will be in 10 more years. The doctor said he would write a letter about my condition if I need one for disability. I’m still not sure if I want to file or not. I feel like I would be taking something from the system when there are so many other people far worse off than me. I also found out I’m not within the legally blind boundaries. I am close however. I need to have a visual field of 20 degrees or less, well I have splotches that go outside of it so that’s not happening, yet.

Anyway, that’s the newest information.

To end this on a happy note, here are some pics of the clouds from the other day when I was walking.

These two were ahead of me.

Here is straight above me.

And finally, this was behind me towards the sunrise.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

