Popping the braille(Lots of pics, yay!)

April 1, 2009 at 9:09 PM | Posted in Braille Wail | Leave a comment
Tags:

Here are my tools for Brailling.

First is the slate. It holds the paper inbetween the two pieces. The top has the shape of the cell, the bottom has the six indentations so I can get the right depth without going all the way through the paper.

Braille Slate

Braille Slate

Close-up Closed

This part goes underneath the paper

This part goes underneath the paper

Next I have the popping tool, the stylus.

Stylus

I use this to poke the paper to get the raised bumps. Now, because the raised bumps have to be read like regular print (left to right) I have to pop the bumps right to left. I have to learn the Braille backwards, I may someday be able to read it properly, but for now I’m learning the letters backwards.

Pop pop pop

Pop pop pop

Here is the word ‘LESSON’ after I pop it. Then what it looks like the right way, so it can be read tactilely.

Backwards

Backwards

forward

forward

There you have it, I am only on lesson two, but I’m learning a lot of punctuation, and it’s hard. I think my next lesson will be numbers.

I feel like I’m back in grade school, almost.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

