In which I calm down

December 29, 2011 at 6:32 AM | Posted in Sew much | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

I tend to over-stress myself. I think I have a long time to get certain things done and then I realize I only have a couple of days to get two vests and one shirt made. As well as finishing my skirt, my hat, and some jewelry.  All for a themed New Year’s Eve party.

I do this often, I don’t budget my time correctly and I end up making things in a whirlwind of sleeplessness and a temper with a short fuse. I snap at everyone who tries to help. For some reason I see it as a person who doesn’t think I can do it myself and out I lash.

I then sit and worry and think on what I need to be doing and when I should be doing it. Scheduling myself to insanity.

I had a wonderful moment where now I can breathe and I have calmed down. Thanks to a wonderful co-dependent cat. Last night I went to sleep with her curled up right next to my head and this morning she curled up on my torso when I laid back down after a shower. Her purrs reminded me what is really important. I often get reminded how lucky I am in life. I had a husband sleeping peacefully next to me and a cat purring and cuddling with me.

There’s no reason to worry about these things. It’s not the end of the world if I don’t get everything done. Things will get done if I am less stressed. Mistakes won’t be made as much if I have a head filled with less rage. I enjoy sewing and making new things so I should enjoy the process not stress over it and make myself more upset.

I know I was already doing a bit better because I actually accepted help from my Mother to pin and get things started while I’m at work today. This is a good thing. It’s not so important that I am the sole maker of items. It’s more important that fun was had during the process. Otherwise, what’s the point?

Have a good day, every one. Don’t sweat the small stuff. I also suggest not sweating the big stuff as well. You’ll be happier in the long run!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. “Don’t sweat the small stuff. I also suggest not sweating the big stuff as well. You’ll be happier in the long run!” Great advice.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

